Will Forster

Lib Dem Spokesperson for Woking and Councillor for South Woking Learn more

View more tweets

View more tweets

Election roundup

by willforster on 1 June, 2016

I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who voted for my local Lib Dem colleagues and I in the recent Woking Borough Council elections.

This year’s election was very different to normal, as both the number of seats and wards on Woking Council had been cut – meaning all the Council seats were up for election, rather than the usual third.

For the first time in many years, the Lib Dems had a good election night in Woking – we won 7 seats and increased our share on the new Council, whereas the Conservatives saw their numbers cut from 25 to 17, and their majority slashed.

I am delighted to have been re-elected as a Borough Councillor for the new Hoe Valley ward, and I am pleased to have two great Lib Dem ward colleagues on the Council in Deborah Hughes and Louise Morales.

Elsewhere in Woking – Lib Dem Ann-Marie Barker and Ian Eastwood were elected in Goldsworth Park, Ian Johnson was elected in Mount Hermon and Ken Howard was elected in St John’s.  Labour won in the new Canalside ward and a group of Independents won Byfleet and West Byfleet – the Tories took the remaining 17 sears.  There are now 17 Conservative, 7 Lib Dems, 3 Labour and 3 Independents on the new look Woking Council.  The full results for each ward can be seen on the Council’s website here.

The headline result across Woking Borough was that the Conservatives got 34,980 votes (47.5%), the Lib Dems received 20,707 votes (28%), Labour got 7,647 votes (10%) and the Independents got 3,982 votes (5%).  Compared to last year – the Tory vote was down 8.5%, our vote was up 16% and the Labour Party’s was down 6%.

I am so pleased that thousands of local people backed a liberal vision for Woking and elected, or re-elected, Lib Dem Councillors like me to stand up for them.  As a party, we feel we have really turned a corner in this election and that we are on the way up.

   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>